I don’t know about you, but I certainly had a busy weekend. Not only was it my birthday (I’ll tell you more about that next week) but it was also time for the much-anticipated season finale of My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic.

As I suggested in my last post, I thought it would be fun to make something of an occassion out of watching the final episode and so I decided on a “Champagne Breakfast in Bed”.

I hadn't realised untl this weekend how much strawberries look like love hearts when you cut them in half...how appropriate!

I prepared a tray of sliced strawberries and bananas, melted chocolate, jam, double cream and homemade lemonade scones.

My boyfriend and I then sat in bed to enjoy our repast while we watched the episode.

Okay, you caught me, that's pineapple juice! I'm not a huge fan of champagne.

I was actually pretty pleased with the episode. I wasn’t sure if a two-part special prominently featuring two characters that had never appeared in the series before would actually work, but it turned out to be quite enjoyable. I was particularly impressed with the designs for the villains.

Our breakfast was suitable regal. I’m a big fan of lemonade scones. They’re so quick and easy to make and they have that perfect balance between moist and crumbly that I think all scones should strive for.

If you want to try making them yourself, here’s my recipe:

Lemonade Scones

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup thickened cream
  • 1 cup fizzy lemonade
  • 3 cups self-raising flour
  • 1 pinch salt
  • Jam and double cream to serve!

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 230°C.
  • Place all ingredients in a bowl and mix until combined.
  • Scrape the mixture onto a floured surface and knead.
  • Shape the dough to about 1″ thick.
  • Use a round cutter or upturned glass to cut out the scones.
  • Pleace on a greased or lined tray and brush tops with milk.
  • Bake for 10-15 minutes or until the tops of the scones are lightly browned.

It’s as easy as that!

What foods do you like to cook up when you feel like something decadent?

